UNCASVILLE, CT - AUGUST 23: Diana Taurasi #3 of the Phoenix Mercury handles the ball against the Connecticut Sun in Round Two of the 2018 WNBA Playoffs on August 23, 2018 at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and/or using this Photograph, user is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. Mandatory Copyright Notice: Copyright 2018 NBAE (Photo by Brian Babineau/NBAE via Getty Images)

Brian Babineau/Getty Images

Diana Taurasi is already the WNBA‘s all-time leading scorer in the regular season.

Now she holds the playoff record.

The Phoenix Mercury guard took sole possession of the all-time postseason scoring record in Sunday’s semifinal game against the Seattle Storm.

She entered Sunday seven points behind Tamika Catchings on the all-time list. Catchings needed 68 games to score 1,141 points, while Taurasi was playing in her 55th.

Cynthia Cooper (23.3 PPG) and Angel McCoughtry (22.8 PPG) are the only two players who have a higher career playoff scoring average than Taurasi (21.0 PPG) among women who have played at least 10 postseason contests.

Taurasi has led the Mercury to 13 consecutive wins in winner-take-all games.

“She amazes me, really, every single day,” Mercury head coach Sandy Brondello said, per Katie Barnes of espnW. “To do what she does at such a high level and at her age is amazing. It shows her competitiveness. She will do whatever it takes to win.”

Phoenix has won three WNBA championships with Taurasi on the roster, with the nine-time All-Star winning the Finals MVP twice.

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here